top of page

The Other Woman


My rating: * * * *

Goodreads Description

A deliciously disturbing, compulsively readable debut domestic suspense--prepare to meet The Other Woman: there’s nothing she won’t do to keep you away from her son ... Emily thinks Adam’s perfect; the man she thought she’d never meet. But lurking in the shadows is a rival; a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves. Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever. The Other Woman is an addictive, fast-paced psychological thriller about the destructive relationship between Emily, her boyfriend Adam, and his manipulative mother Pammie.



My Review


What I liked


* I was so gripped by this story that I couldn't turn the pages fast enough.


* This novel got my emotions pumping. I felt so sorry for Emily, I absolutely couldn't stand Pammie and thought she was nothing but a nasty, manipulative witch and I wanted to grab Adam by the shoulders and shake him until his teeth rattled in his skull. I love novels that make me feel so many emotions and so strongly.


* Pammie is the mother in law from hell, and so if you think you battle with your mother in law then I suggest you rush out and buy this book because Pammie will make even the most difficult relative look like a saint in comparison.


* A quick and easy read that had me diving for the book whenever I had a spare moment.


* An unexpected ending with a wonderful twist, meaning that fans of tense, twisty, psychological suspense will love this one.


* It was thoroughly entertaining and I absolutely loved it.


What I didn't like


* There was some pretty over the top and slightly unbelievable behaviour from some of the characters. I would have acted completely differently in many of the situations and so I did find some of the characters actions a little strange.


* A few loose ends that weren't dealt with by the end of the novel, and which have left me with some questions that I'd love the answers to.



Final thoughts


* I truly loved this novel and it's been some time since I've been so completely entertained. This is one that I have no problem recommending to others.



My Rating: * * * *

Publication Date: July 2018 (South Africa)

Genre: Psychological Suspense

Format: Paperback

Source: Review copy received from the publisher. Many thanks to author, Sandie Jones and Pan Macmillan SA for my copy. It was my pleasure to read and review this title.


Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
My Ratings

Brilliant! Rush out and buy it today

Great read. Buy it soon

Good. Borrow it from the library

There wasn't much to like. Give it a miss

Terrible. Don't bother

My Current Read
Perfect Girlfriend.jpg
In Bloom.jpg
On My Wishlist
Cross Heart.jpg
Snap.jpg
bottom of page