top of page

I, Witness

My rating: * * *

Goodreads Description

They say I'm a murderer. Six years ago, Kate Reynolds was found holding the body of her best friend; covered in blood, and clutching the knife that killed her. I plead guilty. Kate has been in prison ever since, but now her sentence is up. She is being released. But the truth is, I didn't do it. There's only one person who can help: Private Investigator Madison Attalee, the first officer on the scene all those years ago. But there's someone out there who doesn't want Kate digging up the past. Someone who is willing to keep the truth buried at any cost.



My Review


What I liked


* Multiple narrators. Oh yes, I love books that are written in this style. I've always found myself totally gripped when the story is told by multiple narrators and when the chapters alternate between different characters points of view. This book does that exceptionally well.


* Easy read. This is the type of book that just seems to fly by. It's such an easy read, using shortish chapters, lots of dialogue and I found the novel to be a very easy to pick up, anytime, anywhere. It was always easy to get back into the story.


* Fast pace. Although the story isn't necessarily filled with tons of action, it does move along at a good pace. I never felt bored. It was a book that made me want to get into bed at night and read.



What I didn't like


* For some reason I never found myself truly and deeply invested in the characters or the story. It felt a little superficial to me, and I never really found myself "inside" this story.


* Far-fetched. Certain elements in this story were too far fetched to be believable. I don't want to mention specifics at this point for fear of giving anything away, but yes, I couldn't get behind all of the things that had transpired by the end.


Final thoughts


This was a good, quick, easy and entertaining read that I liked. It would make a good holiday read when you just want to be able to pick up a book and escape for a while.



My Rating: * * *

Publication Date: April 2018 (South Africa)

Genre: Crime Fiction / Thriller

Format: Trade Paperback

Source: Review copy received from the publisher. Many thanks to author, Niki Mackay and Jonathan Ball SA for my copy. It was my pleasure to read and review this title.


Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
My Ratings

Brilliant! Rush out and buy it today

Great read. Buy it soon

Good. Borrow it from the library

There wasn't much to like. Give it a miss

Terrible. Don't bother

My Current Read
Perfect Girlfriend.jpg
In Bloom.jpg
On My Wishlist
Cross Heart.jpg
Snap.jpg
bottom of page