top of page

Let Me Lie


My rating: * * * *

Goodreads Description

The police say it was suicide.

Anna says it was murder.

They're both wrong.


One year ago, Caroline Johnson chose to end her life brutally: a shocking suicide planned to match that of her husband just months before. Their daughter, Anna, has struggled to come to terms with their loss ever since.


Now with a young baby of her own, Anna misses her mother more than ever and starts to question her parents’ deaths. But by digging up their past, she’ll put her future in danger. Sometimes it’s safer to let things lie…


The stunning, twisty new psychological thriller from number one bestseller Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go and I See You.



My Review

Clare Mackintosh is one of those author's whose books I'm always excited to read. Since the runaway success of her debut novel, I Let You Go, she's been an author that I've followed and that I've loved. This book is her third novel and although I didn't enjoy it quite as much as the first one, it's still a really great read.


Anna is starting over. Within the last year, she's lost both parents to suicide, and within 7 months of each other. Apart from feeling desolate and alone, she's also feeling angry - angry at how they both chose to leave her, at how they both made a conscious decision to end their lives. But Anna is trying to move forward. She has a new boyfriend and a new baby. But suddenly something happens that brings the past back, that makes her question everything. Did her parents really kill themselves, or is something more sinister at play?


This book is on the slow side, so be prepared for that. But it makes up for this by being intriguing. I found myself thoroughly invested in the story, I wanted to know what had happened to Anna's parents and how things were going to pan out. I also liked Anna as a character, but the character that grabbed me even more was Murray, the retired detective that Anna approaches for help. He seemed to be such a nerdy character. There was no brash-flash with Murray. But I liked him and his back story. His mentally ill wife, and the difficult life that he led because of it added another dimension to this story.


And of course, no Clare Macintosh novel would be complete without the twists and turns that we all know and love. And this book had a few of them. Just when I thought I had everything figured out, the story turned on it's head and as it turns out, I was wrong.


This is an entertaining and great read and one that I recommend.



My Rating: * * * *

Publication Date: April 2018 (South Africa)

Genre: Psychological Thriller / Suspense

Format: Trade Paperback

Source: Review copy received from the publisher. Many thanks to author, Clare Mackintosh and Jonathan Ball SA for my copy. It was my pleasure to read and review this title.


Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
My Ratings

Brilliant! Rush out and buy it today

Great read. Buy it soon

Good. Borrow it from the library

There wasn't much to like. Give it a miss

Terrible. Don't bother

My Current Read
Perfect Girlfriend.jpg
In Bloom.jpg
On My Wishlist
Cross Heart.jpg
Snap.jpg
bottom of page