top of page

Then She Was Gone


My rating: * * * * *

Goodreads Description

THEN


She was fifteen, her mother's golden girl. She had her whole life ahead of her. And then, in the blink of an eye, Ellie was gone.


NOW


It’s been ten years since Ellie disappeared, but Laurel has never given up hope of finding her daughter.And then one day a charming and charismatic stranger called Floyd walks into a café and sweeps Laurel off her feet. Before too long she’s staying the night at this house and being introduced to his nine year old daughter. Poppy is precocious and pretty - and meeting her completely takes Laurel's breath away. Because Poppy is the spitting image of Ellie when she was that age.And now all those unanswered questions that have haunted Laurel come flooding back.


What happened to Ellie? Where did she go? Who still has secrets to hide? My Review

My first 5 star review of the year, and boy oh boy, did this book deserve it!


Then She Was Gone is told mainly from Laurel's point of view, the mother of missing Ellie, who disappeared at the tender age of fifteen. However, we also get glimpses into Ellie's character as some of the chapters are told from her point of view. We hear from Ellie before she disappears, and then again later in the story. I loved the alternating points of view, and the move between first and third person narration.


This read really got under my skin, and some of the chapters creeped me out. I felt for Ellie's family after her disappearance, especially for her mother who fell apart, and then who, years later, manages to find some form of happiness with a new man. But really, the chapters that disturbed me the most, were those about Ellie's disappearance and her capture...let's talk about an eerie basement, a tiny window, a solid door with three bolts, and hamsters, lots of hamsters...


I found this book to be totally gripping, and even though I've been in a bit of a reading slump for the last couple of months, I couldn't wait to get home every day to read. I definitely didn't feel my slump while turning the pages of this book! And this is why I awarded 5 stars - it was just pure, enthralling, entertainment...and that's exactly what I want from my reads.


In summary, I'm not the type of person that enjoys long winded, highly descriptive prose, award winning books that may be extremely well written but which tend to be a tad monotonous and let's be frank...boring. No Sir, not me! Give me a fast paced, rollicking roller coaster of a read and I'll be happy. This one ticks all those boxes! Loved it.


My Rating: * * * * *

Publication Date: Novemeber 2017 (South Africa)

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Format: Trade Paperback

Source: Review copy received from the publisher. Many thanks to author, Lisa Jewell and Penguin Random House SA for my copy. It was my pleasure to read and review this title.


Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
My Ratings

Brilliant! Rush out and buy it today

Great read. Buy it soon

Good. Borrow it from the library

There wasn't much to like. Give it a miss

Terrible. Don't bother

My Current Read
Perfect Girlfriend.jpg
In Bloom.jpg
On My Wishlist
Cross Heart.jpg
Snap.jpg
bottom of page